21 October 2019

Racing driver Jamie Chadwick says 2020 be her last year in all-female W Championship

Racing driver Jamie Chadwick has confirmed she will return to the track to defend her W Series title in 2020 but that it will be her last year in the all-female championship.

The 21-year-old made a name for herself when she claimed victory in the inaugural series of the fully-funded six-race series. She got off to a flying start winning the first race and remaining on top spot for the season, despite tough competition from Holland's Beitske Visser who was hot on her wheels.

She has now made clear her ambition to defend her title against the rest of the top 12 from the 2019 season including fellow Brits Alice Powell, Jessica Hawkins and Sophie Moore.

Changes for the second series are yet to be confirmed but the expectation is that the championship will expand to eight races. W series winners will also be awarded Superlicence points (of which a driver requires 40 to be eligible for F1). 

The young driver has not been shy in declaringing her aim to join the big league. She admits the superlicence points were a huge factor in her decision to return to the W series saying: "That was a really big factor. My ambition is to defend my title, I'm going to put pressure on myself to try and win the championship one more time."

She admits that finances are a key factor that stand in the way of racing at a higher level, saying: "The way the sport works, the next step is financially huge.

"For me to use it as a development series it needs to be a two-year programme, alongside something else hopefully. Potentially at the end of that I have a budget that gives me the opportunity to step up."

The full list of drivers for 2020 have now been announced, including six debutants who secured places at a testing week in Spain in September. 

W Series line-up for 2020:

Returning drivers (in order of 2019 finishing position):

Jamie Chadwick (21) – United Kingdom

Beitske Visser (24) – Netherlands

Alice Powell (26) – United Kingdom

Marta Garcia (19) – Spain

Emma Kimilainen (30) – Finland

Fabienne Wohlwend (21) – Liechtenstein

Miki Koyama (21) – Japan

Sarah Moore (25) – United Kingdom

Vicky Piria (25) – Italy

Tasmin Pepper (29) – South Africa

Jessica Hawkins (24) – United Kingdom

Sabre Cook (24) – USA

New entrants for 2020:

Ayla Agren, Norway; Abbie Eaton, United Kingdom; Belen Garcia, Spain; Nerea Marti, Spain; Irina Sidorkova, Russia; Bruna Tomaselli, Brazil

The best videos delivered daily

Watch the stories that matter, right from your inbox