Birmingham Phoenix to host Manchester Originals for season opener in first edition of The Hundred PLUS full fixture list

Kate Cross is one of the England stars in the line-up for the first game (instagram: manchesteroriginals)
Kate Cross is one of the England stars in the line-up for the first game (instagram: manchesteroriginals)
16:44pm, Tue 26 Nov 2019
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

The Birmingham Phoenix and Manchester Originals will go head-to-head in the season opener for the first ever women's match in cricket's shiny new format, The Hundred, on July 22.

The Originals, with England bowler Kate Cross and South African big hitter Lizelle Lee in their ranks, will travel to Blackfinch New Road for the landmark day. 

The ladies in orange will be waiting to greet them and with England keeper Amy Jones and overseas player Sophie Devine on board, it's shaping up to be a blockbuster event.

How does it work?

Each team faces 100 balls and the team with the most runs wins.

Eight teams, representing seven UK cities, have been established with each having a women's and a men's side.

Each team plays each other once, except for their 'paired rivals' whom they meet both home and away. After 32 league matches in total, the top three teams will advance to finals day on August 14. The top team automatically reach the final while second and third battle it out for the other spot.

What are the teams called and who are the 'paired rivals?'

Northern Superchargers (Leeds) and Manchester Originals

London Spirit and Oval Invincibles

Birmingham Phoenix and Trent Rockets (Nottingham)

Southern Brave (Southampton) and Welsh Fire (Cardiff)

Full Fixtures list:

July 22  - Birmingham Phoenix v Manchester Originals (Blackfinch New Road, Worcester)

July 23  - London Spirit v Northern Superchargers (Lord's)

July 24  - Birmingham Phoenix v Southern Brave (Edgbaston)

July 24  - Manchester Originals v Oval Invincibles (Sedbergh School)

July 25  - Trent Rockets v Welsh Fire (Trent Bridge)

July 26  - Northern Superchargers v Oval Invincibles (South Northumberland CC)

July 26 - London Spirit v Southern Brave (The Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford)

July 27  - Manchester Originals v Trent Rockets (Emirates Old Trafford)

July 28  - Welsh Fire v Birmingham Phoenix (Sophia Gardens)

July 29  - Oval Invincibles v London Spirit (Kia Oval)

July 30  - Welsh Fire v Northern Superchargers (The Brightside Ground, Bristol)

July 30 - Trent Rockets v Birmingham Phoenix (The Fischer County Ground, Grace Road, Leicester)

July 31 - Manchester Originals v London Spirit (Emirates Old Trafford)

July 31  - Southern Brave v Oval Invincibles (The 1st Central County Ground, Hove)

August 1  - Trent Rockets v Northern Superchargers (The Pattonair County Ground, Derby)

August 2 - Welsh Fire v Southern Brave (The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton)

August 2 - Oval Invincibles v Birmingham Phoenix (The County Ground, Beckenham)

August 4 - Southern Brave v Trent Rockets (Ageas Bowl)

August 5 - Northern Superchargers v Manchester Originals (Emerald Headingley)

August 6  - London Spirit v Welsh Fire (The County Ground Northampton)

August 7  - Trent Rockets v Oval Invincibles (The Pattonair County Ground, Derby)

August 8 - Welsh Fire v Manchester Originals (The Brightside Ground, Bristol)

August 9 - Birmingham Phoenix v London Spirit (Blackfinch New Road, Worcester)

August 9  - Northern Superchargers v Southern Brave (York CC)

August 11  - London Spirit v Trent Rockets (The Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford)

August 11 - Northern Superchargers v Birmingham Phoenix (York CC)

August 12  - Oval Invincibles v Welsh Fire (The County Ground, Beckenham)

August 12 - Southern Brave vManchester Originals (The 1st Central County Ground, Hove)

August 14 - Finals day, venue tbc

Sign up to our newsletter