SNP holds four Glasgow constituencies

Humza Yousaf (PA Wire)
18:17pm, Fri 07 May 2021
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

The SNP has held all four Glasgow constituencies which were declared on Friday.

Along with First Minister Nicola Sturgeon, Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf, Bill Kidd and Bob Doris will return to Holyrood for the SNP.

Another four constituencies in the Glasgow region are due to declare results on Saturday, along with the regional list.

Ms Sturgeon was re-elected in Glasgow Southside, where she went up against Scottish Labour leader Anas Sarwar.

The First Minister won 19,735 votes, compared to Mr Sarwar’s 10,279 – a majority of 9,456.

Afterwards, she said: “At this stage I am extremely happy that the SNP appears to be on course for a fourth consecutive election victory and to be on course to have the privilege of forming a government again.

“If that is indeed the outcome of this election I pledge today to get back to work immediately to continue to steer this country through the crisis of Covid, to lead this country into recovery from Covid, and then, when the time is right, to offer this country the choice of a better future.”

Elsewhere, Mr Yousaf won the Glasgow Pollok constituency with 18,163 votes.

Scottish Labour’s Zubir Ahmed came second with 11,058 votes.

The Justice Secretary said he was “delighted” with the result, adding: “I promise I will continue to serve with the utmost dedication.”

SNP also held the Glasgow Anniesland seat as incumbent MSP Mr Kidd saw off a Labour challenge.

Mr Kidd won 17,501 votes, ahead of second-placed Scottish Labour candidate Eva Murray’s 10,932.

In his victory speech, Mr Kidd thanked SNP activists for their work, saying they had done a “fantastic job”.

He said: “I have to say that being elected again is something I’m extremely proud of.

“It’s something that you can never be sure of, you’ve got to put in the effort and make sure it gets there.”

The SNP’s Mr Doris was re-elected in the Maryhill and Springburn constituency with 16,428 votes. Labour’s Kieran O’Neil came second with 8,504.

He thanked his family – saying “family comes first” – and other candidates for a “robust campaign”.

Sign up to our newsletter