17 June 2020

Vfl Wolfsburg win Frauen Bundesliga for the fourth consecutive season

Vfl Wolfsburg have claimed the Frauen Bundesliga title for the fourth consecutive season.

They beat SC Freiburg 2-0 today which put them eight points clear of second in the table Bayern Munich with two games left to play.

Wolfsburg have won their fourth consecutive trophy (PA)

With the maximum points available to Munich being six, Wolfsburg have sealed their victory for the 2019/20 season.

Goals for Wolfsburg came from star players Pernille Harder and Joelle Wedemayer. 

Wedemayer scored in the 32nd minute to secure her side a 1-0 lead at half-time.

And Harder added to her treasure trove of scores this season as she struck on the 42nd minute to seal Wolfburg’s dominant campaign. 

Harder alone has scored 26 of the club’s 88 goals this season.

They will officially be awarded the trophy after their final match on June 28 against Bayer 04 Leverkusen. 

Wolfsburg’s next game, and penultimate of the season, will be against Bayern Munich on June 21.

The best videos delivered daily

Watch the stories that matter, right from your inbox