Thomas Tuchel, Emma Hayes and Edouard Mendy have won FIFA Best awards (PA)
17 January 2022

Awards treble for Chelsea as Tuchel, Hayes and Mendy scoop FIFA prizes

17 January 2022

Chelsea scooped three individual prizes at the Best FIFA Football Awards, with Thomas Tuchel, Emma Hayes and Edouard Mendy all winning their categories.

Tuchel and Hayes were named men’s and women’s coach of the year respectively, while Mendy won the men’s goalkeeper award.

Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski won the men’s player award for the second year running and Barcelona midfielder Alexia Putellas was named women’s player of the year.

Tuchel, rewarded for steering Chelsea to Champions League glory last season, said he was shocked to receive the award, having been on a three-man shortlist with Pep Guardiola and Italy coach Roberto Mancini.

He said: “I’ve just come from training because we have a game (on Tuesday), but now you opened the envelope and said my name, it’s pretty surreal.

“I’m overwhelmed, I feel a bit uncomfortable actually. I enjoy the journey and I enjoy the club, it’s a good fit. The company on the journey is so good, so I’m grateful to have such supportive people around me, to feel so good in such a competitive club.”

The 48-year-old German, who replaced Frank Lampard at Stamford Bridge in January 2021, also led Chelsea to the FA Cup final and a fourth-placed finish in the Premier League.

Hayes, 45, guided the Blues to Women’s Super League, FA Cup and League Cup glory in the 2020/21 season and steered the London side to the Champions League final.

She was named WSL manager of the season for her feats and was awarded an OBE in the New Year Honours for services to football.

Hayes said: “I’m completely shocked. It’s down to the players and the fantastic people who represent my work. Ultimately, the coach is only as good as the people they have around them.

“I’ve got brilliant people at Chelsea that have helped to support the team to the place we’re at. Honestly, I’m absolutely shocked right now.”

Senegal goalkeeper Mendy, 29, in his second season at the Premier League club after joining from Rennes in September 2020, was nominated alongside Italy’s Gianluigi Donnarumma and Germany’s Manuel Neuer.

Chile and Lyon’s Christiane Endler was named women’s goalkeeper of the year.

Poland striker Lewandowski, 33, has maintained the stunning form which saw him win the Best FIFA award in 2020, setting a new record for most Bundesliga goals in a calendar year with his 43rd goal in December, eclipsing the mark set by Gerd Muller in 1972.

He beat Lionel Messi and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah to the award.

Barcelona midfielder Putellas, 27, captained Barcelona to the treble, with the Catalans winning the Women’s Champions League and Spanish league and cup last season.

Five Premier League players were named in the men’s world team of the year – Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante and Jorginho, plus Manchester City pair Kevin De Bruyne and Ruben Dias and Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo – while England internationals Lucy Bronze and Milly Bright were included in the women’s team.

Ronaldo also received FIFA’s special award for extending his all-time international goal-scoring record to 115, with his latest effort coming in a World Cup qualifying win against Luxembourg in October.

Elsewhere, former Tottenham winger Erik Lamela, now with Sevilla, won the Puskas Award for best goal for his ‘rabona’ effort in the north London derby against Arsenal in March.

The Denmark national team and their medical and coaching staff won the Fair Play Award for their response to Christian Eriksen’s collapse in the Euro 2020 match against Finland.

The best videos delivered daily

Watch the stories that matter, right from your inbox