Wigan release four and offer new deals to nine others

A general view of the DW Stadium
A general view of the DW Stadium (PA Archive)
17:29pm, Wed 26 May 2021
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

Wigan have offered new contracts to nine players after retaining their League One status.

Tendayi Darikwa, Joe Dodoo, Lee Evans, Owen Evans, Jamie Jones, Kyle Joseph, Will Keane, Chris Merrie and Viv Solomon-Otabor are all out of contract this summer and have been offered renewed terms.

Zach Clough, Dan Gardner, Alex Perry and Corey Whelan will all leave the club at the end of their existing deals.

A statement on the club’s official website read: “Wigan Athletic would like to thank all those departing for their efforts during their time with the club, and wish them all the best for the future.”

Thelo Aasgaard, Callum Lang, Adam Long, Gavin Massey, Tom Pearce and Luke Robinson are all contracted to the club beyond this summer.

Sign up to our newsletter