Setback rules Master Of The Seas out of Royal Ascot

Master Of The Seas will miss Royal Ascot (PA Wire)
13:12pm, Mon 17 May 2021
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

Master Of The Seas has been ruled out of Royal Ascot after suffering a setback in training.

Charlie Appleby’s charge was beaten just a short head by Poetic Flare in the 2000 Guineas at the start of May, having lifted the Craven Stakes on his prep run for the Classic in April.

The Dubawi colt had been as short as 4-1 for the St James’s Palace Stakes at the Royal meeting on June 15, but he is now set for a short spell on the sidelines.

Appleby told www.godolphin.com: “Master Of The Seas pulled up slightly lame after working on Saturday and after further investigation, he was found to have strained a joint.

“He will now be on the easy list for the next two to four weeks. We will then look at potential future engagements, which could include Goodwood.”

Sign up to our newsletter