01 October 2019

First British Olympians for Tokyo revealed as GB announce sailing squad

Team GB's first athletes for Tokyo 2020 have been unveiled as the 12-strong sailing squad was named.

Notable among them is Olympic champion Hannah Mills who won gold in the women's 470 at Rio 2016 alongside Saskia Clark. She will be teaming up with Eilidh McIntrye as she bids to defend her title in Japan.

A medal of any colour would make Mills, 31, the most successful female Olympic sailor of all time, having also won silver at London 2012. 

Charlotte Dobson partners up with Saskia Tidey who changed allegiance to Team GB in 2017 having represented Ireland in Rio. Alison Young takes to the water in the Laser Radial and will be hoping to emulate her World Championship winning performance of 2015.

Great Britain is the most successful sailing nation in the Olympics and boasts a record of 58 medals including 28 gold.

The Olympics start on July 24 2020 and run until August 9.

Full Squad:

470 Women - Hannah Mills & Eilidh McIntyre

49er FX - Charlotte Dobson & Saskia Tidey

Laser Radial - Alison Young

RS:X Women - Emma Wilson

Finn - Giles Scott

470 Men - Luke Patience & Chris Grube

49er - Dylan Fletcher & Stuart Bithell

RS:X Men - Tom Squires

The best videos delivered daily

Watch the stories that matter, right from your inbox