16 August 2019

Great Britain announce squad for World Rowing Championships

Great Britain have named their women's, men's and para-rowing squads for the World Championships in Austria later this month.

The event is a direct qualifier for the Olympics in Tokyo 2020 and British Rowing's director of performance said "We've selected a team that we're confident is capable of challenging for the Olympic qualification places available,"

"We're in a great position following our training camps in the lead up to the Worlds." he added, "The crews have been challenging themselves to keep stepping up their performances day by day."

Great Britain are notoriously successful on the water and will be hoping to continue this form going into the Olympic year.

The women's, men's and para squads are as follows:


Women's single scull - Vicky Thornley

Women's pair - Sam Courty, Annie Withers

Women's double sculls - Kyra Edwards, Ruth Siddorn

Women's four - Sara Parfett, Holly Hill, Polly Swann, Emily Ford

Women's quadruple sculls - Jess Leyden, Melissa Wilson, Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne, Charlotte Hodgkins-Byrne

Women's eight - Fiona Gammond, Zoë Lee, Jo Wratten, Hattie Taylor, Rowan McKellar, Rebecca Shorten, Karen Bennett, Holly Norton, Matilda Horn (cox)

Lightweight women's double sculls - Emily Craig, Imogen Grant


Men's single scull - Tom Barras

Men's pair - Morgan Bolding, Tom Jeffery

Men's double sculls - John Collins, Graeme Thomas

Men's four - Matt Rossiter, Ollie Cook, Rory Gibbs, Sholto Carnegie

Men's quadruple sculls - Jonny Walton, Angus Groom, Jack Beaumont, Pete Lambert

Men's eight - Tom George, James Rudkin, Josh Bugajski, Mohamed Sbihi, Jacob Dawson, Ollie Wynne-Griffith, Mat Tarrant, Tom Ford, Henry Fieldman (cox)

Lightweight men's single sculls - Sam Mottram

Lightweight men's double sculls - Jamie Copus, Zak Lee-Green

Para-rowing crews:

PR1 men's single scull - Ben Pritchard

PR2 mixed double sculls - Lauren Rowles, Laurence Whiteley

PR3 mixed coxed four - Ellen Buttrick, Giedre Rakauskaite, James Fox, Ollie Stanhope, Erin Wysocki-Jones (cox)

The event will take place in Linz, Austria and runs from 25 August - 1 September. 

The best videos delivered daily

Watch the stories that matter, right from your inbox