04 December 2019

International stars dominate inaugural Women's Big Bash team of the tournament with Australia's Jess Duffin announced as captain

The 2019 Women's Big Bash League have revealed their first-ever team of the tournament and named Melbourne Renegades' skipper Jess Duffin as captain.

The 30-year-old has been in scintillating form this season, averaging 71.42 across 13 matches with an impressive strike rate of 140.05.

Those performances have put her in strong contention for a spot in the Australian squad for the 2020 ICC Women's T20 World Cup.

Melbourne Renegades teammates Molly Strano and Dani Wyatt will also feature in the side.

Strano is the all-time WBBL leading wicket-taker and has thus far taken 20 wickets at an average of 18.9, while England star Wyatt has scored 468 runs in 14 games.

Other notable international names include Australia captain Meg Lanning and star all-rounder Ellyse Perry, who has continued her Ashes form by impressing with both bat and ball.

Brisbane Heat's Ashley Noffke was named as coach of the team and Adelaide Strikers' Sophie Devine was honoured as player of the tournament.

WBBL Team of the Tournament 2019:

Team: Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat), Sophie Devine (Adelaide Strikers),  Danielle Wyatt (Melbourne Renegades), Meg Lanning (Perth Scorchers), Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers), Jess Duffin (Melbourne Renegades), Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat), Marizanne Kapp (Sydney Sixers), Molly Strano (Melbourne Renegades), Megan Schutt (Adelaide Strikers), Belinda Vakarewa (Hobart Hurricanes)

Coach: Ashley Noffke (Brisbane Heat)

The best videos delivered daily

Watch the stories that matter, right from your inbox