17 December 2020

Jamie Chadwick to defend W Series title as first 18 drivers announced for 2021 season

British racing driver Jamie Chadwick is set to defend her W Series title as the first 18 drivers are announced for the 2021 season. 

The 22 year-old, who won the 2019 inaugural all-female race, will take to the track again, as the series heads to eight Formula 1 support races for the first time. 

Chadwick, who has been a development driver for the Williams F1 team this year, said: "People are most aware of me because of W Series and the last two years have been a life-changing whirlwind. 

"Winning the inaugural W Series Championship in 2019 was the biggest stepping stone in my career, providing me with so many amazing opportunities. 

“The same has been true for lots of the drivers from our maiden on-track season and it just proves that W Series’ mission to provide greater opportunities for women in motorsport is working.”

Other drivers who will take to the track next year are Chadwick’s compatriots Alice Powell, Sarah Moore, Jessica Hawkins and Abbie Eaton. 

Elsewhere, Spain’s Marta García and 2020 W Series Esports League winner Beitske Visser from the Netherlands will also compete. 

Chief Executive Officer, W Series Catherine Bond Muir said: "This year has been incredibly testing for everybody, but our fast and fearless drivers have displayed remarkable resilience and dedication, and they can now look forward to competing on motor racing’s biggest stage thanks to W Series’ new partnership with Formula 1. 

“Our eight races next year will take us right across Europe and the Americas, and our 18 drivers represent 12 countries, therefore helping us to enhance the reach and impact of W Series globally, and to achieve our mission of inspiring young girls and women everywhere.”

The drivers will also have the opportunity to be eligible for FIA Super Licence points, which gives them the chance to compete in Formula One. 

The 2020 W Series was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic. 

The 2021 W Series drivers: 

Jamie Chadwick, Beitske Visser, Alice Powell, Marta García, Emma Kimiläinen, Fabienne Wohlwend, Miki Koyama, Sarah Moore, Vicky Piria, Tasmin Pepper, Jessica Hawkins, Sabré Cook, Ayla Ågren, Abbie Eaton, Belén García, Nerea Martí, Irina Sidorkova and Bruna Tomaselli.

The best videos delivered daily

Watch the stories that matter, right from your inbox