Northern Ireland boss Kenny Shiels announces three new call-ups to squad against Faroe Islands in Euro qualifier

Northern Ireland will face Faroe Islands on September 18 (PA)
22:48pm, Thu 10 Sep 2020
CBAD8A00-D2B9-4E0E-ADDF-D0366C357A34 Created with sketchtool. E9A4AA46-7DC3-48B8-9CE2-D75274FB8967 Created with sketchtool. 65CCAE04-4748-4D0F-8696-A91D8EB3E7DC Created with sketchtool.

Northern Ireland women's manager Kenny Shiels has announced three new call-ups ahead of the side’s Euro qualifier clash against Faroe Islands.

Linfield defender Abbie Magee, Glentoran midfielder Joely Andrews and Glens striker Kerry Beattie are all named in the squad for the match in Torshavn on September 18.

The 20-player squad will also feature former Linfield striker Kirsty McGuinness who has not played for the side since June 2018. 

Goalkeeper Lauren Perry is also returning to the national squad after suffering with an anterior cruciate ligament injury in 2018. 

Glentoran midfielders Nadene Caldwell and Samantha Kelly have also been named in the squad. 

Northern Ireland last played in March in the Pinatar Cup in Spain.

Euro qualifying matches were lined up in April and June against Belarus and Faroe Islands, but were postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

After their upcoming game next week they will face Belarus away on October 27 and will then host the side at home along with the Faroe Islanders in November and December. 

If Northern Ireland win their remaining four games then they will be in with a shot to compete for a place at the Euro 2022 in England. 

Northern Ireland squad:

Defenders – Toni-Leigh Finnegan (Cliftonville Ladies), Ashley Hutton (Linfield Ladies), Abbie Magee (Linfield Ladies), Julie Nelson (Crusaders Strikers), Rachel Newborough (Charlton Ladies), Demi Vance (Rangers Women).

Midfielders – Joely Andrews (Glentoran Women), Nadene Caldwell (Glentoran Women), Marissa Callaghan (Cliftonville Ladies), Rachel Furness (Liverpool Ladies), Samantha Kelly (Glentoran Women), Chloe McCarron (Birmingham City Women), Sarah McFadden (Durham Ladies), Rebecca McKenna (Linfield Ladies).

Forwards – Kerry Beattie (Glentoran Women), Simone Magill (Everton Ladies), Kirsty McGuinness (Sion Swifts Ladies), Lauren Wade (Glasgow City).

Sign up to our newsletter